90 Cushing Avenue, Dorchester, MA 02125

John M. Corcoran Award for Excellence

John M. Corcoran

The late John M. Corcoran, a real estate developer and founding member of St. Mary’s Board of Trustees, was a guiding force in the organization’s early years. He set a standard of compassion, excellence, and dedication, and every year we recognize individuals like him with the John M. Corcoran Award for Excellence and inspire others to model John’s legacy of helping those less fortunate.

Award Criteria

The Corcoran Award recognizes an individual who possesses John’s remarkable traits and in his image creates critical and meaningful change. The Corcoran Award Advisory Board reviews nominations and selects the individual or organization who demonstrates engagement in truly critical work and is exceptional in their dedication. Honorees embody the following characteristics:

  • Dedication: tirelessly committed to a cause, charitable organization, or social movement
  • Selflessness: contributes his/her expertise, time, and resources to the greater good regardless of personal gain
  • Engagement: assumes a hands‐on approach out of a personal investment in the work
  • Innovation: identifies needs and envisions solutions or alternatives to address them
  • Determination: not only funds or leads an organization or project but drives it with unwavering conviction
  • Strategic: seeks opportunities that produce holistic, authentic change ‐ not “quick fixes”
  • Compassion: feels a responsibility to contribute to society and better the lives of his/her fellow citizens

John M. Corcoran Award for Excellence Advisory Board

Stephen J. Casey
Joseph E. Corcoran
P. Leo Corcoran±
Sr. Theresa Corcoran±
Thomas Corcoran
Peter Karoff
John Keith
Peter Meade
Rev. J. Donald Monan
Joyce Murphy
Don Rodman
Jack Shaughnessy, Sr. ±
Arthur Winn


Corcoran Award Recipients
2014 – State Street Corporation
2013 – Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts
2012 – Kathleen McGillicuddy & Corcoran Management Company
2011 – Carol Fulp, President & CEO of The Partnership and former Senior Vice President, John Hancock Financial
2010 – Philanthropist Carolyn A. Lynch, The Lynch Foundation
2009 – Child advocate and community leader Hubie Jones and philanthropists John Keith and Arthur Winn
2008 –The late A. Raymond Tye, philanthropist, & Father Bill McCarthy, founder Father Bills & MainSpring
2007 – The late Thomas J. White & Joia Mukherjee, M.D., Partners In Health
2006 – Jack Shaughnessy, Sr., Shaughnessy & Ahern Co.
2005 – Don Rodman, Rodman Ford and Rodman Ride for Kids


Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /homepages/30/d106028223/htdocs/demo-stmaryscenterma/htdocs/wp-content/plugins/ultimate-social-media-icons/libs/controllers/sfsi_frontpopUp.php on line 63